PDA

View Full Version : When does detailing become restoration?

hudson1gua
08-28-2010, 08:04 PM
Can someone help in giving me advise as to when a detailing job stops and actually turns into a restoration job. How to advise the customer of this, billing rates and justifying them. At times I feel customers take advantage of the term "Detailing" and expect way too much work under its terminology and average price frame, am I right or wrong?

Any tips appreciated.

ASPHALT ROCKET
08-28-2010, 08:12 PM
That is why I charge by the hour.

ROMEO
08-28-2010, 09:01 PM
Well, I don't do detailing for a living, but I'm a contractor, and what I do, is that I always estimate based on worse case scenario (and some tomes I add a 20% ti that), and then some, just to cover my self just in case, it is better to surprise the customer with a smaller bill at the end of the job, than trying to explain why I went over... Also, I tent to avoid those customer that are way too picky about the price...

hudson1gua
08-28-2010, 10:59 PM
I guess my main issue is how to balance out time with quality..nyone know about steam wash&wax?

ROMEO
08-28-2010, 11:16 PM
I'm sure there are a few short cuts out there, but in my opinion, short cuts always sacrifice quality...

Do you think you could be getting more business out this person? Any chance you could get referrals out of him/her?

In any business there is always that one job that you will ether not make as much as you were thinking, heck, there will be those that you ether break even or even lose some, but at the end, it all works out good.

If it was me, I would do the job covering all of the steps needed, and make sure that the customer knows what it took in other to get it done.

Just my 2 cents...

hudson1gua
08-28-2010, 11:21 PM
Thankz..guess I will go to the drawing board again....

XB70
08-29-2010, 01:46 AM
Detailing is not restoration.

Detailing is taking the existing car to its maximum potential.