PDA

View Full Version : pinnacle xmt/pinnacle advanced difference?

ssautonova
08-12-2010, 04:28 PM
Yes I am a newbie, but I am wondering what the difference is and is it worth the extra money for the advanced? Thanks in advance. I will take any other recommendations for a beginner that is getting started in machine polishing for a hobby on my own cars.

2kredbb6
08-12-2010, 05:28 PM
I wasnt very happy with the XMT line, not sure about the advanced..

ssautonova
08-21-2010, 12:44 PM
Well i decided on the Porter Cable 7424XP, pinnacle complete swirl remover kit, and pinnacle ultra poly clay. I just was trying it out on my gray tonneau cover on my ford ranger.
I am having a tought time removing scratches and some blemishes.
My question is what can I expect to remove with this package? I am afraid I didn't get an aggressive enough swirl remover, or I am doing something wrong. I used the white ccs pad then changed to the more aggresive orange pad. It did remove some of the blemishes and smoothed some of the scratches but I can still see them. I have went over the areas 3 times.
Thanks for your help

2kredbb6
08-21-2010, 03:08 PM
Have you tried a little more pressure? W/orange ccs pad an slower passes.
XMT line Gave me the same problems, little no correction..

A4 1.8tqm
08-21-2010, 04:03 PM
My question is what can I expect to remove with this package?

As a general rule of thumb, you can expect-

A "finishing" polish to take the swirl-free finish to the next level, giving the wet glossy look that is so sought after. Also can be used to touch up light marring like from a buddy leaning on your car then saying "oh, sorry" and wiping the area with his shirt.

A "swirl remover" polish to take care of the spider web swirls that are inevitable on a daily driver. A "swirl remover" should finish marring-free to the naked eye, but still can be improved on.