PDA

View Full Version : Claying,Poli-Coat & Collinite 845

Mike Burke
07-20-2010, 11:02 PM
Hello, I’m new to this detailing obsession but I think I’m catching it.
I have a 20004 White Suburban that I need to start on. It’s in good shape (I’m sure there are some swirls but It looks good to me. I’m not looking for perfection, this time anyway. Here is my list of (new) tools:

PC7424xp 1 orange ccs pad
2 white pads
2 gray pad
DP Poli-Coat Paint Sealant
Collinite # 845 Insulator Wax
Pinnacle Ultra Poly Detailing Clay
On to my questions……….after I wash do I need to clay the whole vehicle? (My first time ever) and the first time for the Suburban. Horizontal and Vertical panels
After claying I plan on using the DP Poli-Coat…I would like to use the PC to apply it, which pad should I use? I’m thinking the White Pad.
Then applying the Collinite 845 wax over the Poli-Coat. Is this ok? Should I wait a day or so to let the DP dry well? If I use the PC to apply the wax should I use the gray pad?
Thanks for any suggestions and answers,
Mike
#

kb2ehj
07-20-2010, 11:31 PM
Welcome aboard Mike, word of caution, this place is addicting.

To answer your questions and I'm learning this stuff also, I'd probably clay the entire vehicle, some people say only the horizontal panels need to be done, but I'd say do the whole thing.

You can apply both the sealant and wax by the PC or by hand, like the above statement everybody does it a different way.

You want to apply both those products with a finishing pad, in your case the gray/black. The white one is on the bottom of the scale for correction work.

If more pads are to be purchased in the future I'd probably get yourself a couple blue and red ones (both are finishing pads).

Most sealants want at least a 12 hour cure time, as Mike will say, follow the directions on the product your using and you will not go wrong.