PDA

View Full Version : How much pressure?

Pages : [1] 2

CU2MIKE
07-20-2010, 12:28 PM
Noob here, I recently upgraded from an UDM to a flex. I'm wondering if i apply the same amount of pressure with my rotary as i would with the DA? thanks everyone!

Rsurfer
07-20-2010, 04:38 PM
Noob here, I recently upgraded from an UDM to a flex. I'm wondering if i apply the same amount of pressure with my rotary as i would with the DA? thanks everyone!
Depends on the paint you are working on. Type of compound/polish and type of pad. Alway's do a test spot first. Good luck.:buffing:

CU2MIKE
07-20-2010, 06:11 PM
Depends on the paint you are working on. Type of compound/polish and type of pad. Alway's do a test spot first. Good luck.:buffing:
I see. So on hard clear coat like BMW, Mercedes, and the vettes i would use more pressure than I would Acura, is that what you are getting at?

I usually start off with IP + LC CCS white pad after inspecting the condition of the paint (how bad are the scratches and swirls).

Rsurfer
07-20-2010, 07:27 PM
Like I said: Alway's do a test spot first. Experience will dictate what pad and polish. Start with the least aggressive first.

CU2MIKE
07-20-2010, 07:29 PM
Will do!
heh, i just ordered megs 105 and 205. nothing wrong with the Menzerna line, just wanted to try out different products. Will do test spot with 205 + grey pads first though! thanks for the suggestion, i really appreciate it!

rohnramirez
07-20-2010, 11:04 PM
Absolutely not the same amount of pressure you would use with a DA. It is best to start with just the enough weight to keep the foam pad flat (usually the weight of the machine is sufficient), then adjust the pressure applied as needed if you're not getting the amount of correction you want. Given you've already figured out the other factors to consider such as speed, pad cut, paint defect, chemical (compound/polish), etc. A test spot as suggested earlier by RSurfer would help.

CU2MIKE
07-20-2010, 11:11 PM