PDA

View Full Version : Help me with PC & Black Saleen !!

Pages : [1] 2

Saleen281
11-08-2006, 09:09 PM
Hey everyone- just recieved my PC buffer and pads. I am having trouble with my new black Saleen.

First off, I want to point out I am a custom painter by trade- I am used to cutting, buffing and working with paint. I can do it with my eyes closed. HOWEVER, this new PC has me a little baffled.

My Saleen has the usual "dealer provided" scratches- basic scratches from washing, people touching it, etc. I have gotten most of the bad ones out with a rotary buffer (DeWalt) and assorted pads and 3m compounds.

Most of the others are the "spider" scratches you get from careless detail guys.

I bought Pinnacle XMT1, Pinnacle Adv. Finishing Polish, white pad, blue pad and black pad. I figured the PC would let me go over the whole car, get out the spider scratches, fine scratches, etc.

Simply put, the scratches aren't coming out. I have tried about every combo with the PC, and no luck. I've changed the speed, just about everything.

However, I can put a pad on the rotary, put some 3M Perfect-it III on it, and get them out in less than 20 seconds, at 1000 rpms. Once that is done, I can take the PC and put a white pad with XMT1 on it, and it really pops. Thats OK, I guess, but I bought the PC to do EVERYTHING.

What am I doing wrong?

ryandamartini
11-08-2006, 09:15 PM
Might need an orange pad with the xmt1. The black and blue pads are more from waxes if anything.

I would lay some xmt2 down with the orange pad. SHould leave you a LSP ready finish. Also make sure you are laying down the polishes right with the PC, it is a lil different than a rotary. To see a great example of how to put down XMT2, look at the video on this page:
http://autogeek.net/xmt.html

-Ryan

Totoland Mach
11-08-2006, 09:23 PM
Hey everyone- just recieved my PC buffer and pads. I am having trouble with my new black Saleen.