PDA

View Full Version : What Products to you keep coming back to?

Pages : [1] 2

Light-Zone
11-08-2006, 08:54 PM
I'm really still very new at the detailing process. The first products I purchased were Menzerna IP, FPII, and Finishing Glaze. I bought a PC and a set of pads that were put together for use on German paints, to use on my SLK. I also have Klasse AIO and SG in my kit.

I've had very good suscess using this combination, but, as many of use are, we are alway looking for something better. So I went on to try other products, starting with Chemical Guys. I've also read many good things about Poor Boys and FK as well. So today I went out to my Dodge Ram which is black, and started to experiment with the Chemical Guys products, including one called Spider, which is suppose to remove minor scratches and micro-marring, and then deminish into a polish as well. After doing a side panel, using an orange pad, I pulled the truck out into the sun to check my work. WELL, I was surprised to see that I had actually done more harm than good.
I had removed quite a bit of the existing shine, and although I knew I could repair what I had done, I was still motivated to call up CG to get some advice (something I should have done BEFORE placing my order, or at the very least, before begining my work). They were very helpful and did say that the product they call Spider was too aggressive for my situation. They said a product called All-In-One that they offer would have been a better choice. Even using a less aggressive pad would have not made a difference they told me, because the product itsself was considered aggressive. I thanked him for his advice and set out to correct what I had done.