PDA

View Full Version : New Member Marietta,Ga

Pages : [1] 2

Detail
07-01-2010, 12:15 PM
Wanted to take a second and introduce myself. First off, how in the world did I get this screen name? I can't believe none of you had this.

I'm and IT guy by trade but a car guy at heart. Got into the car scene via detailing (really unskilled all by hand type work) as a teenager. I used to clean my father's associates rides for $50-$60 which equated to 5-6 hours of work. 5 years later I finally got a decent car and got to "trade" in my free details that I had given friends for parts and labor. I moved onto working at local tuner shop in Atlanta as a summer job. I turned wrenches during the day and was responsible for our pro drag car's finish during the race season. This also let me clean a whole bunch of pro import drag racers cars. Had one guy in particular that wouldn't run unless I touched his car. Swore to me it gave him a .10 in the 1/4 mile. :)

So many years later I'm still playing with cars and trying to make my details better. I never charge people anymore, the price is paid in the smile on their faces. In the last year I've gotten a lot more educated and my tools have finally come around.

Here are my products in use: anything in bold you can buy locally at stores. Everything else I’ve purchased online.

Wash:
5 gallon bucket
Dirt guard insert
Meguiars ultimate wash and wax
Another 5 gallon bucket
I use microfiber wash mitts
Soft bristle scrub brush
Eagle 1 A-Z wheel cleaner
Absorber synthetic drying rag
Rigid 6.5 hp vacuum (doubles as a blower which I use to help dry the car, gets all the water out of seals and cracks, seriously...why don't you have one of these???)
RainX for the outside of the windshield
NoTouch wet and protect tire shine (this stuff only lasts a week or so, but you can see yourself in your tires, and I like that)

Exterior:

Porter cable 7336sp
I have the hook and loop adapter for it