PDA

View Full Version : Need advice - Relocating

LuxuryMobile
06-28-2010, 08:38 PM
Quick background: I’ve been detailing for 3 years now (all mobile, some jobs at my house) Do everything from simple wash packages, to full paint correction. I haven’t ever really pushed for business or advertised much because I have been working a full time job as well. Probably 70% of my work is repeat clients, 30% referral work.
I’m going to be moving 7 hours away and fortunate enough that I will not need a full time job, or much income really. I will however need/want to make some money monthly.
My question for everyone is what do you suggest I do, to market myself, as a brand new mobile detailer in the area? 1-2 cars a week would be ideal. I will have access to a single car garage, water, power and all supplies to complete everything from a wash to paint correction.
I have professionally done business cards with my information on them. Other than that I do have any other flyers or similar items to use to market my services.
Any advice or ideas will definitely be appreciated.

cobalt9123
06-28-2010, 08:45 PM
Obviously you'll have to get your name out there. One of the best ways, in my opinion, as a non-detailier for money ( I just do it for fun) would be having a super nice car that is completely scratch free and shining all the time with your logo/contact information on it. Obviously this could be yours or anyone willing to put it on their car, if they would be willing. Word of mouth and seeing the results of your work is the best way to do it...in my opinion.

If you can spare it, maybe give out some free wash/waxes. Probably 80% of the people will just do it for the free wash/wax but there could be a substantial amount of people that will love the results of your work and want you to do it more. Basically...get them hooked like you got hooked. Show them a clean car, if they ask for more, give them a test spot of a polished area on an inconspicuous space..and go from there.