PDA

View Full Version : RV pricing?

Pages : [1] 2

Southern Stang
06-10-2010, 12:45 AM
Okay guys, got a pricing question. I've never done an RV before. My GF's dad wants me to do a wash and wax on theirs. Its a 35 ft 2008, don't know the brand but you get the idea. It's not heavily soiled, and is fairly clean. Is there anything special chemical and wax wise needed to do this? Also I have no idea where to start price wise on this thing. Next, after this big guy is onto his vette :)

CEE DOG
06-10-2010, 06:38 AM
The key words there are "girlfriends" "dad". That might confuse the pricing issue some. Im the MAN

dragster
06-10-2010, 06:57 AM
Wash & wax would be 10 to 15 dollars per foot. I use Meguiars Marine grade products on RV'S & boats. Hope this helps Jim

Southern Stang
06-10-2010, 07:07 AM
Thanks jim. Cee Dog, her dad is a fairly wealthy guy, which I think would have no problem with the pricing issue. As he has managed his business pretty well, and continues to do so. Im the MAN:dblthumb2:

Mike Phillips
06-10-2010, 09:35 AM
I've detailed 2 RV's in my life, that was enough.

Lots of real estate, lots of work...

RV's with gel-coat finishes will oxidize
RV's with actual paint will get swirls and scratches

The goal for either will be to wash and then use a one-step cleaner/wax and hopefully with a DA Polisher.

For an oxidized finish you'll want to use a strong cleaner/wax so you can remove the oxidation and leave behind a clear finish that's protected. For a painted RV you can match the aggressiveness or lack thereof for the cleaner/wax to the condition of the paint but you still want to use a one-step product unless you have lots of time to invest into dedicated steps.

Wash
Clean or correct the paint (remove swirls, scratches and water spots)
Polish
Protect

Keep in mind that each step requires you to then use your arms to wipe the entire RV down to remove leftover residue.