PDA

View Full Version : My arms are throbbing, help!

newleaf
11-03-2006, 06:32 AM
I'm a rookie here and I know you guys are great at gettin it to shine but I need some advise removing painted on lettering.

Here's the facts, I purchased an ambulance that I am converting into a motor home and in order for it to be legal, I have to remove all the lettering and decals. The lettering is a thick flat paint that was brushed on.

I tried a Dewalt circular buffer with a yellow 4" spot buffer pad, pad libricant and "Hi-Temp Extreme Cut Leveler". This seems to work but I have to crank the buffer speed all the way up and really lean into it. It takes about 12 minutes to remove one letter (about 5" x 3") and I have at least 100 letters to go! The compound dries quickly after only a minute or so. I am constantly have to apply more product and since I am removing paint, I am cleaning the pad frequently. I just want to get the lettering off, get it shined up and then it's going up for sale. This process is exhausting and time consuming. And I still have the decals to deal with.

Repainting the vehicle is too expensive, so I will endure whatever pains I have to go through to get this lettering off.

Perhaps it's supposed to be difficult. I'm new to this kind of thing so I really don't know. All I know is that my arms are killing me. Can you guys please give me some recommendations. Maybe there is a compound that is a little bit more aggressive or one that doesn't dry out so quickly. I don't know, but I know you will. I know that this is an unusual situation but please help me before my arms fall off! I need my arms to drive the damn thing, plus I'm newly married and my wife likes me to wrap them around her, however I understand that will change in time.

I also need some advice on removing the decals. Will a heat gun help?

Thanks for your help

Newleaf

XterraOverload
11-03-2006, 07:46 AM
I don't know what to tell you bro?? I think your going to have to repaint it.