PDA

View Full Version : Menzerna Polishes - Any Good?

Pages : [1] 2

dz63
05-27-2010, 12:18 PM
I just finished polishing my "new" 2002 silver Camry with some swirls and thousands of tiny surface rust spots. I used a PC7424XP dual action polisher with one of these three Menzerna polishes.

a) Menzerna Powergloss S34A (highest cut)
b) Mezerna Intensive Polish P091E (medium cut)
c) Menzerna Final Polish P085U (low cut)

This is my first time doing paint correction and boy was it ever a lot of work. I spent a good 8-10 hours polishing and waxing my car. I don't have any experience with other products or polishers, so I do not have anything to compare with. But, I do have some burning questions for those of you who have the experience and are willing to share it....

1) With all three of the above polishes, I found that they dried out very quickly (typically within 30-60 seconds) after I started polishing. I primed the pad with Pinnacle XMT Polishing Foam Pad Conditioner prior to applying the polish on the pad, and I even "spritzed" the pad every couple of minutes, but it didn't seem to make a lot of difference. Within less than 2 minutes, I observed fine white power all over the place, and could barely see any polish left on location I was polishing. Is this normal? I was expecting to be able to polish for like 4-5 minutes in one spot.

2) Is the clear coat on a Toyota Camry considered a "soft" clear coat or a "hard" clear coat? The reason I ask is that one spot on the hood about 5" in diamter had some minor swirling and it took me 4-5 applications of Powergloss with the most aggressive LC, yellow CCS pad to get rid of most of the swirls. There were still a few remaining swirls that I gave up on. I was expecting much faster paint correction with the Powergloss / yellow pad than that. Is this normal?