PDA

View Full Version : couple questions....

Yoshi94
05-26-2010, 07:46 AM
Ok I'm going to be PC my car this weekend. I have never used a sealant before so I bought #845. Going to be using that with a blue or grey pad.

Im doing the XMT 3 step process. When its sealant time, do I put the sealant on 1st before my choice of wax or vice versa?

Also just another quick question, I bought the pinnacle xmt kit with 7424xp intermediate swirl remover. The light and intermediate seem very watery.. is it suppose to be like that? Or just needs a real good shake.

sqeekykleen
05-26-2010, 08:08 AM
First of all welcome to AGF. You would want to do all of your cleaning and polishing first. Then you would want to do an IPA wipedown. Applyyour sealant, and then if you wish you could apply a coat of wax over your sealant. Make sure that you read the sealant directions to see if there is a cure time before topping with wax. The XMT polish should not be to watery, more like a lotion, might need to be shaken real well before use.

DARK HORSE
05-26-2010, 09:36 AM
If you're talking about Collinite 845 as your sealant, it is actually a liquid carnuba insulator wax, but I does offer the durability of a sealant.(Excellent durability/great product). With that being said if you are going to use Collinite 845 there is really no reason to top it with another carnuba. However if you want to you can. Just be sure to put the 845 down first, as it is heavily enriched with solvents that could strip off another wax if another wax was applied first...

jzuniga01
05-26-2010, 10:12 AM
Just be sure to put the 845 down first, as it is heavily enriched with solvents that could strip off another wax if another wax was applied first...

I thought that Collinite didn't have any cleaners and that it was just a wax.That is what I think I read on another thread. So am I wrong?

DARK HORSE
05-26-2010, 10:39 AM