PDA

View Full Version : Megs 205 too harsh? 3 Step reccomendations?

Pages : [1] 2

estcstm3
04-28-2010, 08:13 PM
Hello All,

I will preface this as I am fairly new to detailing with DA.

I have read in numerous places that the 105/205 is the greatest thing since sliced bread. My question is, isnt the 105 compound fairly strong? Is it overkill and are you taking off too much clear? From some of the polish aggresiveness charts its a straight compound? Does it make more sense to try say a PoorBoys SSR first? I am just wondering how most people only have the 2 products? Does the 205 have any "real" swirl correction? On my s2000 sites everybody use Menzerna, jeffs werkstat, poorboys, but not too much mention of meguirs maybe because they think its too common (just a guess). Just trying to put together a good starting set of DA compound/polish/LSP. I am trying to stick to a 3 step system max. swirl removal/polish for depth wetness/LSP for durabilit (one car stays outside 24/7).

Thanks!!!

ASPHALT ROCKET
04-28-2010, 08:18 PM
The great thing about the Megs twins is that you can dictate the cut by your pad choice. When you swing by I can show you the differences in the polishes. Megs twins or Menzerna are your best choices as far as polishes go at this point and time.

PAR Detailing
04-28-2010, 08:23 PM
105/205 definitely has some correction power and that is an understatement. And yes 205 has real swirl correction ability, obviously not as much as something stronger but yes you will get some correction from it. What you need really depends on how bad the paint is, how hard your clear is, your pad selection, and last but definitely not least your technique with the DA. Take pictures of the cars in the sun or with lights showing the swirls and whatnot so everyone can see, maybe that can help narrow down what you will want/need.
Oh ya in the words of Mr Phillips... What are you working on?

Jon

ScottB
04-28-2010, 08:48 PM