PDA

View Full Version : Some Newbie Questions.

cptpez
04-22-2010, 08:50 AM
Hello all. This is my first time posting. I have decided to get into car-car and have just received a major delivery from Autogeek. I have been scouring the forums and have learned a great deal – but I still have some questions/concerns I was hoping the community could help me with before I begin work this weekend.

Some background: I have two cars. A 2005 Audi A4 convertible (Carribic Blue) and a 2002 Land Rover Discovery (Beige/Tan). I live in South Carolina – so weather is predominately hot/humid with lots of pollen in the springtime and virtually no winter. Both cars have always been garaged and the paint/finish on each is in faiyly good condition. Prior to my recent interest in car care – neither car was washed/waxed very often. Typically they were washed, if at all, by the Dealer during maintenance (or, in the case of the Rover, at a drive through car wash). I would say the Audi has been hand waxed 3 to 5 times in it life, and the Land Rover probably never. (hangs head in shame). That has now ended.

I purchased the Porter Cable/Pinnacle XMT package – so I have the buffer, XMT #2, XMT #1, the XMT Glaze, and the pad conditioner. As for pads, I have 1 orange, 1 white, 2 gray; a wool pad and several Microfiber bonnets. My wax is Pinnacle Signature Series II. I also picked up some Meguire’s clay with lubricant.

My plan of attack is:

a. thorough washing/drying
b. claying
c. polish (either just #1 – or #2, then #1)
d. glaze
e. wax

Ok – now my questions/concerns: