PDA

View Full Version : first time with a rotary. yikes!

cletus t.s.
04-01-2010, 10:12 PM
hey guys. figured i would share my first rotary experience with you guys. i got a makita for xmas and this was the first day i had some free time and the weather was appropriate. i've been using a porter cable da for a few years just to give you an idea of my previous experience. i watched many videos and read all i could before attempting the rotary but apparently i didn't pay close attention to detail. my first pass, i put a bead on the hood of my 2002 sonoma and went to pick it up. the bead shot all over me the garage, and my freshly polished subaru. makita 1, me 0. couldn't pick up a bead like a pro so i put some swirl remover on the wool pad. dabbed it on the paint and worked it on on speed 1 and my spirits lifted until i bumped it up to three. its incredible how far product can fly! if the products i was using were red my garage would have looked like a crime scene. the good news is i got it under control eventually and the results were brilliant. i only did the hood tonight but it was the most fun i've had detailing in a while. :props:

5.4 Shelby
04-01-2010, 10:40 PM
Sounds like fun. I am on the verge of ordering one. I want to take it the next level, but, am a little weary. I like the safety margin a DA provides.

CEE DOG
04-01-2010, 10:42 PM
Congrats, keep us posted with some pictures and details such as the things that struck you one way or the other while educating yourself on the Rotary.

the_invisible
04-02-2010, 04:10 AM