PDA

View Full Version : Is the Dewalt 443 ok?

Pages : [1] 2

AfireINSIDE
10-18-2006, 05:40 PM
I know this is probly the wrong fourm, But in high school I worked as a new car prep guy. I bought a re-firb 443 from the tool guy one day for like $50.00 and have never touced it untill I got on here and decided that I wanted to start detailing. Now is this a good unit, I really dont have the cash right not to get a PC but will when this dies. Also any idea on its backing plate and where to get one? mine rotted off lol. Thanks

BILL
10-18-2006, 06:14 PM
I know this is probly the wrong fourm, But in high school I worked as a new car prep guy. I bought a re-firb 443 from the tool guy one day for like $50.00 and have never touced it untill I got on here and decided that I wanted to start detailing. Now is this a good unit, I really dont have the cash right not to get a PC but will when this dies. Also any idea on its backing plate and where to get one? mine rotted off lol. Thanks

AS LONG AS YOUR SPINDLE IS 5/8 YOU CAN GET THE PLATE ETC HERE AT A.G.

http://www.autogeek.net/circular-polishers.html

http://search.store.yahoo.com/cgi-bin/nsearch?catalog=autogeek&.autodone=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.autogeek.net%2Fnsearch. html&query=RANDOM+ORBITOR+BACKING+PLATES&x=5&y=13

ScottB
10-18-2006, 06:18 PM
make sure it is a random orbital and not a circular, good to go !

AfireINSIDE
10-18-2006, 06:35 PM
yes it is a random orbital, the unit dosent have a spindle it has the dewalt 4 torx screw that hold the plate on, unlike the PC.

Grimm
10-18-2006, 07:34 PM
Should be a good unit from what I've read over on Autopia. I think this unit cannot use the usual backing plates, but the one it has is fine for the 6-7.5" pads. It actually has a little more power than the PC, so it may be better. I thought about getting one, but they were a fair amount more expensive than the PC.

3Dog
10-18-2006, 09:34 PM