PDA

View Full Version : Odd Question - Smell

SRHTX
01-05-2010, 07:09 AM
Hello Everyone,

Here is my biggest problem with detailing the interior of anyones vehicle. That problem is, I can no longer smell, or taste, anything since 2001. I know when you use APC, and other products, it will leave a wonder smell inside vehicles. I akways advise my clients that I can't smell, so, I do not know what the interior of their vehicle will smell like when I've completed the detail.

Do any of you use anything to correct the harsh smells inside vehicles? :help:

Ahhhhh....... The joys of brain damage. Told ya this is an odd question.

dublifecrisis
01-05-2010, 09:20 AM
that's a tough one. I'm no expert but it seems that before masking or covering any odor, whether intentionally or not you have to remove what's causing the smell. There are different chemicals for different odor causing things. Grease stains require degreasers, protein stains require an enzyme....something along those lines. After these are all removed, then you have the optional step of adding smell whether it's with a dedicated 'smell good product' or an added scent to a protectant for example.
Since you can't smell anything, I see where it might cause you to be uneasy.

Outside of cleaning interior, do you typically use some sort of odor control or fruity, new car, leather scented stuff?

SRHTX
01-05-2010, 10:03 AM
Well, after I clean the interior of vehicles, using harsh stuff, I spray some Auto Magic Magic Dressing on the carpets inside the vehicle. I use to use that item quite a bit in the past. Used it when I could smell, so, all of my clients loved it when I used it. I still have some and that is what I still use.

As for the oder smells, I'm looking to buy odor wipe-out or odor fogger system. Not an AG product though. :( That product(s) is over $250 +.