PDA

View Full Version : LC pad for liquid wax?

clapton924
12-04-2009, 03:20 AM
I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to DA polishers. I bought a PC7424XP a few months back and have only used it a few times. I bought a LC red pad for applying liquid wax; as recommended by the manufacturer. Last time I waxed my car I found that the red pad had soaked up a ton of the wax...I could literally squeeze wax out of the pad when I was cleaning it. I thought the red pad was supposed to keep the wax on the paint. Could my technique be improper? Too much pressure? Or is there a better pad for the job?

evilwrx
12-04-2009, 07:31 AM
I use the red pad also for liquid wax. I have also used the grey pad. The red pad had less wax in it when I was done waxing the car than the grey pad. I do not believe your technique was bad as that is going to happen with whatever applicator you use, including applying it by hand.

Mike Phillips
12-04-2009, 11:58 AM
It's probably technique related. When applying a wax, paste or liquid you only need to lay down a thin coating. If you're saturating a foam red finishing pad it sounds like you're using too much wax.

How are you applying the wax?

Applying some to the paint or to the face of the pad?

If the face of the pad, how much are you applying?

Keep in mind, when you apply wax to the face of the pad and then place the face of the pad against the surface of the paint, for that brief moment before you turn the polisher on and start spreading out the wax, the liquid wax is being pushed up inside the foam.

That's why I use the "Kissing the Finish" technique outlined in this thread,

Tips and Techniques for using the PC 7424XP Dual Action Polisher to remove Below Surface Defects (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/expert-tips/20021-tips-techniques-using-porter-cable-7424xp.html)