PDA

View Full Version : 2007 Mustang GT Noob Help (buffer, pads,etc)

Pages : [1] 2 3

Grabber07'
11-16-2009, 04:59 PM
Hi Everyone,

I posted an introduction and Im glad i found this place. Looks like a very knowledgable bunch.

Ive been using a Craftsman Orbital buffer for the past 2 years applying polishes and wax...claybaring on occasion.

I am in the Market for a Buffer (leaning towards the Griot per the reviews). Need everything to go along with it as well (Pads, Compounds, Polishes, Wax, clay bar, etc)

Problem I have. Car looks great from a few feet away, but closer inspection shows light scratches all over the car. Im not sure if I had a dirty claybar? Dirty MF rag? dirty shammy? But its driving me insane. :)

I need a solution. I am by no means a professional and am looking for advice. I want to get rid of these fine scratches. I cant feel them with my finger, but no polishes or waxes have been able to correct the issue. Thus why I am looking for a more powerful ROB, bads, chemicals etc.

For now I have been using a local detail shop to supply myself with my chemicals

Detail Supply Warehouse (http://www.detailsupplywhse.com/)

The polishes and waxes seem to do a great job on the paint, but dont have the experience to remove the scratches...they are all over the car. They dont seem to be a swirling patter either....mostly NSEW...which makes me think claybar.

Help me pick out a buffer Kit and chemicals that will help me remove the scratches....but also want advice on week to week cleaning. This car is a daily driver BUT I show it on the weekends and want it looking fantastic.

Any and all advice is appreciated.

pics of the car for your enjoyment:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2488/3960954205_ff44d66820.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2617/3961653532_d2107c80ba.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3485/3961656486_0564d4c2ee.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2548/3961729156_2e8c5e3b45.jpg

Grabber07'
11-16-2009, 05:18 PM