PDA

View Full Version : Where does cleaner wax fit in the detailing process?

trencher7
11-13-2009, 03:20 PM
Hi all. I am new to this and excited to get my first PC XP just recently. There are so many products and steps involved and I could use some help. I have a silver 2003 Saab 9-3 which doesn't have many swirl marks, but heavy water stains I can see in the light. I haven't waxed it in over a year and ready to make up for it. I have some Meguiar's speed glaze which I thought of using after claying the car. Or do I need to fit in another cleaner application between?

I was just going to use the white CCS pad (or should I use the light green?) I was then going to follow with the Collinite Insulator 845 wax. I also have had a few bottles of Meguiar's cleaner wax around and wasn't sure when that would fit in the process if I am using a polisher with the speed glaze. Is cleaner wax only used for those that want a one step wax /clean that aren't polishing beforehand? Thanks. All suggestions appreciated.

CakeDaddy
11-13-2009, 03:28 PM
This chart is GOLD! Print it out in color and post in your garage.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/product-charts-graphs/20193-flow-chart.html

I think the cleaner wax falls under the pre cleanser polish category.

washing the car
cleaner wax
glaze <---optional
seal
wax

You can use the blue or grey pad for the cleaner wax.

trencher7
11-13-2009, 03:42 PM
This chart is GOLD! Print it out in color and post in your garage.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/product-charts-graphs/20193-flow-chart.html

I think the cleaner wax falls under the pre cleanser polish category.

washing the car
use the cleaner wax
glaze <---optional
seal
wax

You can use the blue or grey pad for the cleaner wax.

I might have the wrong take on the speed glaze. I think of it as the polish/ cleaner step. It has some abrasives for cleaning so I don't see why I would put a layer of wax on my car with the cleaner wax, to then just polish it away.