PDA

View Full Version : Paint Meter?

Pages : [1] 2

Paint-Shield
10-25-2009, 10:29 PM
I would assume if people are wet sanding factory clear coat they are using a Paint Meter to make sure they don't compromise the clear. So could some of the experts recommend the Meter they are using and recommend some issues you have encountered while using a Paint Meter.

As you can tell I am just starting to learn about this, so any information from the pro's would be very much appreciated.

Mike Phillips
10-26-2009, 09:19 AM
I would assume if people are wet sanding factory clear coat they are using a Paint Meter to make sure they don't compromise the clear. So could some of the experts recommend the Meter they are using and recommend some issues you have encountered while using a Paint Meter.

As you can tell I am just starting to learn about this, so any information from the pro's would be very much appreciated.

Over the years I've had experience using the following Paint Thickness Gages

ETG-A Paint Thickness Gage
http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/719/etga.jpg

Quanix 4500 Paint Thickness Gauge
http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/719/quanix4500.jpg

And the one we now carry in the AG Store

Defelsko PosiTest DFT Combo Electronic Paint Thickness Gauge (http://www.autogeek.net/paint-thickness-gauge.html)

Out of these 3 I've personally used, one of the reasons we carry the PosiTest PTG is because of it's accuracy and ease of use, right out of the box there's no calibration necessary in order to use it successfully, if fact after it's delivered to your door you can take it out and start using it immediately. You can calibrate it if you want to and it's easy to calibrate.

It also has a large, easy to read screen and the display is flippable, that means with the push of a button on the side of the tester the screen will flip 180 degrees so you can easily read it upside down.

Some other important features,