PDA

View Full Version : Best Porter Cable kit for Beginner??

Djd84
09-25-2009, 05:35 PM
I am looking to get into detailing by getting myself one of the Porter Cable kits from the store on here. I have never used a rotary before but I think I can handle it. So the question I ask is which kit should I buy? I was looking thru the kits on the site and theres just too many and I'm unsure of what will be best for what I need. I am looking at spending around $400 total after the kit and some other stuff like brushes and mitts. I dont have much now, except for some supplies Ive picked up from AutoZone over the years. So Im basically looking to get everything I need for exterior detailing for now. Im not worried about the interior as I can get by on what I have until I get the hang of using a rotary. Im also not concerned about engine supplies or anything like that. I will only be doing my two cars and a few family members to get myself trained over the coming winter months. Im on a budget for the time being so this initial investment needs to get me by until I get the hang of things. Thanks in advance for the help.

LincolnZephyr2006
09-25-2009, 05:53 PM
First of all, welcome. Second of all, the porter cable is not a rotary/circular polisher. It is called dual action.... and is made for beginners or people who do not want to do complete paint correction. In your case... a dual action would be perfect until you have enough experience to master a rotary. You will not burn the paint with a dual action, so it is completely safe for new users of machine polishing. I do not have too much time on my hands.... but a good starter kit is the PCXP with the megs 105/205 combination. I will post back more later for you.

cjsls
09-25-2009, 07:06 PM