PDA

View Full Version : Porter Cable 7424XP Intermadiate swirl remover question

Bimmerfan
09-14-2009, 07:00 PM
Hi, Guys. I am new in detailing and in this forum. I got 2001 black BMW with some bad swirls and acid rain spots. Few days ago I got PCxp with Intermediate swirl remover Kit. I did only a hood, that was the most bad part as you see on the pics that is how it come out after three passes of using XMT intermediate kit. some swirls stilll there. I used 6.5" LC Orange, wight and gray pads.
after reading several thread here I realized that i need smaller pads and more agressive compound. But that is where I need your half to get right ones because I really do want waist money and time on experimenting. what do you guys think how can this paint be corrected. what size pads and what kind of polish? I was thinking to get 4" Yellow catting pad and Menzerna Power Gloss and than XMT #3 and 1 with classe AIO, Wolfgang finishing glaze 3.0 and pinnacle souveran paste wax
your advise would be great:xyxthumbs:

ScottB
09-15-2009, 06:40 PM
I usually find Menzerna SIP or Megs 105 to be the only compounds needed for aggressive work. That is using the smaller pads and backing plate on PC. You could certainly move to Menzerna Powergloss but more cut indeed.

Harleyguy
09-15-2009, 08:41 PM
Xmt line isn't going to cut it for you .And as Killr mentioned your going to have to step it up some.If you go for the 105 don't forget the 205/Or the menz SIP and some 106fa /85rd.You need to follow up with an aggressive product

Mike Phillips
09-16-2009, 07:38 AM
Moved out of the "Introduce Yourself" forum and into "Auto Detailing 101" forum.

:D

Buckskincolt
09-16-2009, 09:12 AM
Looks to me like he is almost there if that's a before and after picture. Being as he is new I'll bet the lack of cut is more about technique than it is product. The XMT intermediate #3 in that kit is equal to say the WG Total swirl remover 3.0 so would we not think it should be enough?