PDA

View Full Version : Removing Wet Sand Marks?

mcpp66
09-07-2009, 12:22 PM
Hi. I have a black Camaro and somehow I put a couple of small scuff marks on the rear bumper. It's not a metal bumper, I guess it's some kind of plastic. Anyhow, I took it back to the dealership to have them fix it up for me. They ended up wet sanding it and while the scuff is gone, there's a nice little haze from the wet sanding marks. The area is smooth to the touch so I guess it's just superficial , but I was wondering what the best way to get rid of that would be? According to Consumer Reports, Quixx is the best scratch remover but I don't know if I need anything that strong. I've been buying Meguiar's products but I read in that same article that their scratch removers tend to haze as well. Do I even need a scratch remover to remove wet sand marks? I'm sorry, this is my first new car and the first one that I actually care about keeping nice, I have no prior car care experience and just don't know much about detailing cars. I wish I had a camera so that I can upload a photo but I don't. The haze is not something you'd really notice unless you're looking at it up close, but I know it's there and it really bothers me. It seems as though it shouldn't be too hard to get rid of it, especially since the surface feels smooth to the touch. Thank you in advance for your advice!

Mike Phillips
09-07-2009, 05:25 PM
Wet-sanding marks are scratches in the paint and can be difficult to remove depending upon how hard the paint is and how deep the scratches are.

The way you remove them of course is you must remove enough good paint surrounding them until the highest points of the surface are level with the lowest depths of the deepest scratches. This is where you can get into trouble if the paint is thin.