PDA

View Full Version : Spots on windows visible with polarized sunglasses

fritzdog
09-21-2006, 05:04 PM
I'm new to this wonderful world of automotive detailing when I stumpled upon this site a couple weeks ago after getting my new 2007 black Saturn Aura. Last week I received my first two packages from AG including a PC and various cleaning and polishing items, pads and microfiber towels.

I've always noticed when I wear my polarized sunglasses that oftentimes there appears to be translucent spots on car windows, typically on the rear window but sometimes visible on the side ones as well. What causes these spots and can they be removed? I've noticed that these spots are visible on my Aura's rear glass and would like to remove them if possible when I detail the car this weekend.

Thanks, Fritz

ScottB
09-21-2006, 06:06 PM
I too see them with my polarized Revo's. It appears to be the glue or holding agent that was used to coat/cover the glass while in transit to the manufacturer. Very noticable on rear windows .... never could remove it, and can see it thru some tinted windows also.

Brace1
09-21-2006, 07:32 PM
I don't think it's tint or glue related, but rather the light refraction (or lack thereof) that distinguishes polarized glasses. One of the selling points that you'll often see on the rack where they sell the shades, is that you can see a fish "underwater" on a tinted glass that you can't see without the shades.

Meghan
09-21-2006, 07:42 PM
I don't think it's tint or glue related, but rather the light refraction (or lack thereof) that distinguishes polarized glasses. One of the selling points that you'll often see on the rack where they sell the shades, is that you can see a fish "underwater" on a tinted glass that you can't see without the shades.
:iagree:
I just got my first pair, and well I find it annoying to look at vehicles, almost all have those little round circles.

dengood1
09-21-2006, 09:01 PM