PDA

View Full Version : Prepping & DGP Sealant 3.0

Esse Ocho
08-25-2009, 02:05 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm a detailing enthusiast and familiar with several brands (Poorboy's, Meg's, Autoglym, Chem Guys etc.) I'm relatively new to Wolfgang, but recently bought the absolutely superb Black Diamond Tire Gel, got interested in the brand and now Paintwork Polish Enhancer and DGPS 3.0

Please allow me a quick question whilst detailing:

I've just polished my car with Poorboys Professional Polish (first orange CCS where needed, then on white, using Flex 3403 VRG rotary).

As a next step I intend to use Wolfgang Polish Enhancer, to refine the finish and clean any eventual residue. (Sorta instead of Dodo Lime Prime)

Usually I then like to apply a pure glaze - PB Black Hole in this case - before applying a sealant (either EX-P or Jetseal). After that I usually top the sealant with a wax (Natty's, Pete's 53, Dodo Supernatural, or even Zymöl Concours Glaze).

I get good (great say others) effects this way, so I like to go the same route, up to the sealant. I like to try DGPS (2x) on it's own at first, to fully appreciate it's quality.

The only thing I'm worried about with DGPS is the 'bonding' issue I read about.

So, is it possible to use Black Hole - maybe even covered with a coat of the amino functional EX-P - before applying DGPS?

Or is it absolutely crucial to apply DGPS directly after PPE on 'bare paint'?

(NB: Zymöl claims you NEED to apply Concours Glaze on 'bare paint', but that's been debunked).

Wondering what the case is here... ;)

TIA!

loudog2
08-25-2009, 02:47 PM
IMO there is no need for the galze if the paint is corrected. The PPE has mild fillers in it anyway. Use the PPE and apply the DGPS 3.0 after x 2. I recently did my car with the DGPS and Supernatural after polishing. I debated using the Pinnacle cleansing lotion before the DGPS. But, went with the DGPS on bare squeeky clean paint.