PDA

View Full Version : Dual action random orbital polisher?

CEE DOG
08-15-2009, 08:50 PM
I am a newb for this. I have only done polishing by hand and even that I am new to! I am considering buying a machine and start practicing on my old cars. What machine should I buy and what should I know about what pads etc to get?

ryandamartini
08-15-2009, 08:58 PM
It depends. I would say that if you are just going to do your own car, you would be happy with the new Porter Cable XP. If you are thinking of ever branching out and doing other cars for side money, you should look at the FLEX.

For pads, you have the EDGE system which some like and some do not, but I think it is pretty cool and convienient so have hot swap double sided pads.

The other pad type is the LC pads which for PC should be flat or the CCS which is just useless to me. You also have the cobra slotted pads.

My personal opinion is that the best PC pads are just pads that are plain and flat surfaced. I have not noticed any difference at all from the classic flat pads to all the fancy ones. The only pads Ive truly noticed a difference from is the Kompressor pads on the rotary.

Joshs2013MSAltimaSL
08-15-2009, 09:30 PM
Menzerna kit, 5.5 lake country pads, porter cable menzerna kit, ceramic clear polishing kit, Mercedes polishing kit (http://www.autogeek.net/pc7424-menzerna-ceramic-kit.html)

That's a great kit for a beginner. It pretty much has everything you will need. Of course this is addicting and once you start reading and learning more, you will want more. Welcome to the forum. :)

2003 GMC Denali
08-15-2009, 09:49 PM
I too am looking for a starter set, but I like the Griot machine. The Bail Handle looks like it would be more comfortable to use in the long runs. The Griot also looks like it has better specs than the PC-XP.

Just a couple of hours left for me to buy my order with 20% off.

2003 GMC Denali
08-15-2009, 09:50 PM
GRIOTS Buffer...