PDA

View Full Version : Yellow windows

02DWB
08-01-2009, 12:19 PM
I tried the search function and looked it up in the auto geek U but found nothing. My question is how do you remove the tar and smoke build up on glass windows

loudog2
08-01-2009, 01:04 PM
Stronger cleaners don't work(chemical based)? Try DP glass restore.

02DWB
08-01-2009, 01:22 PM
I used Invisible glass and it took it up but left major streaking... Im no professional detailer so I dont have all the good stuff...yet... :) so im just looking for

maddenbowler
08-01-2009, 01:34 PM
use the invisible glass again. Try it a few times

loudog2
08-01-2009, 02:02 PM
If your windows are not tinted, I would use windex. You need a stronger cleaner for the tar and smoke stains.

02DWB
08-01-2009, 02:07 PM
Gotcha Its my friends car and he dosent have tint

ScottB
08-01-2009, 03:45 PM
Invisible Glass with a MF WW Towel. Dont oversaturate the glass, let it sit and outside of sunlight. I presume we are talking about interior.

A4 1.8tqm
08-01-2009, 05:57 PM
:iagree: ...works for me.

Just repeat the process a couple times, as a heavy smoker I know how irritating it is.

Blackthorn One
08-01-2009, 09:44 PM
Too bad his lungs won't be as easy to clean.

Fred114
08-01-2009, 09:56 PM
As a former smoker, I can tell you it just takes lots of elbow grease. Since he doesn't have tint, I would go with Windex with ammonia. If it is bad, will still take several cleanings, and you must use a clean towel for each window, each time.

Emile
08-01-2009, 10:01 PM
What are you guys talking about? I'm a smoker (I dunno about heavy or light, about a pack a day) and I don't have this problem.

Anyways, as killr said, Stoner Invisible Glass with a waffle weave towel. First spray it on the windshield to get good cleaning power and then wipe it off.