PDA

View Full Version : Any experience w/ UPPP hand applicator?

CEE DOG
07-17-2009, 07:15 AM
Hey guys, I have my products and the time is drawing near when I shall etc, polish, seal my car for the first time. The salmon colored foam hand applicator that came with Ultima PPP looks awfully hard too me. Can a few people confirm that they have used this and if they did anything to soften it first? Also how hard to press against it. I'm sure I'm just being crazy but I am really scared I am going to screw something up since I have no experience.

Thanks for your patience,
Corey

Emile
07-17-2009, 09:22 AM
It's a hard foam so that the pad doesn't absorb too much product. Use light to medium pressure and work in an overlapping motion to work in the polish. If you're not comfortable with the included applicator then just use your own foam or microfiber applicator pad.

CEE DOG
07-17-2009, 07:22 PM
It's a hard foam so that the pad doesn't absorb too much product. Use light to medium pressure and work in an overlapping motion to work in the polish. If you're not comfortable with the included applicator then just use your own foam or microfiber applicator pad.

It seems strange after all the stuff I read about not rubbing something dry against the paint! What about the dry part of the foam applicator?

ryandamartini
07-17-2009, 07:38 PM
It seems strange after all the stuff I read about not rubbing something dry against the paint! What about the dry part of the foam applicator?

Maybe just mist your pad with a QD and just apply the product using the face of the applicator? I dont think you will be causing any damage.

ScottB
07-18-2009, 04:10 PM
I used a standard foam applicator with UPPP ... just remember as light a coat as possible. The streaks are darn hard to remove after some time.

Emile
07-18-2009, 06:30 PM
I used a standard foam applicator with UPPP ... just remember as light a coat as possible. The streaks are darn hard to remove after some time.