PDA

View Full Version : Headlight Restoration - I NEED HELP!!

Lilskeezer
07-15-2009, 11:13 PM
I'm a bit of a newbie to the auto detailing world, but I've been trying to perfect all aspects since I am going to take up a side job of mobile detailing. That being said, my first adventure into the headlight restoration realm has been a discouraging one. After watching a Headlight Restoration video on another car care site I was convinced that the 4 step process: Wetsand w/ 1000 grit and 3000 grit sandpaper, apply cleaner (Meguiars Plastic Cleaner), and finish up with a polish (Meguiars Plastic Polish) would be a success. I even came back with a Meguiars wax I had in the garage since I wanted to try everything before I quite. I only got about half way there (in terms of quality) before I threw in the towel. I've attached the before and after shots of the headlights and am hoping someone can help (they weren't more yellow after, unfortunately I just had to change the light source). As you can see, the tops of each lens turned out pretty good, but there was an extra oxidized/weathered portion near the bottom of the lens that was very stubborn. I can't charge anybody for a job of this low quality, so let the comments/advice fly! Thanks!
BEFORE>>
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c226/lilskeezer/P1000696.jpg
AFTER>>
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c226/lilskeezer/P1000714.jpg

gary26
07-16-2009, 12:25 PM
I used the Mothers Power Ball with the same products you did and it came out pretty nice. I used an electric drill with the Power Ball. Good Luck

longdx
07-16-2009, 03:52 PM