PDA

View Full Version : Novice Detailer needs advice!!!

bigblueshmid
06-09-2009, 10:02 AM
I have a 2000 White Nissan Maxima and am looking to detail it. I'm new to detailing but have been reading up on the different waxes and such. I am stuck on which way to go. So Feed back please would be nice.

The first way I've thought about is the Forum Favorite with Klasse AIO, Klasse High Gloss Sealant Glaze, Pinnacle Souveran Paste Wax, andPinnacle Crystal Mist Carnauba Detail Spray for touch-up.

The second way is Klasse AIO, Klasse High Gloss Sealent Glaze, and P21S 100% Carnauba Wax.

I don't know which would give the best shine as my car is White or which is better. I've heard good things about both. So if you all could help me out I would appreciate it. Also, this is the first major detail I would be doing and don't know whether I should clay bar my Maxima or not either. I don't know when you would need to do this. Let me know what you all think. Thanks.

PerroneFord
06-09-2009, 10:08 AM
This is like asking about playing baseball and asking for advice on how to steal home plate.

How do you plan to get the car clean? Does the paint need to be polished before you apply these sealants? Does any other work need to be performed?

Once the paint is in pristine condition, either of these methods will produce very nice results. You aren't going to get a deep, wet look on a white car. So the high reflectivity of a sealant is probably going to be very welcome. I don't know that I'd spend the money on a high end carnauba wax for this job.

Spend your detailing time on getting the car clean, and the surface smooth, and the rest will fall into place.

Blackthorn One
06-09-2009, 10:18 AM