PDA

View Full Version : Bug Spatter Removal?

MistysMurano
06-01-2009, 10:26 AM
Hi Guys!

I am a noob, so be patient with me. I just purchased a new Nissan Murano SL 4 weeks ago (black) and washed it for the 1st time this weekend using Pinnacle Bodywork Shampoo and a sea sponge. Dried off the car with the Cobra Microfiber cloth. Just on the front hood/bumper are splotch marks on the paint that I can't get off, I assume it is bug splatter? Could anyone guide me as to what product I should use to take it off? I used a bit of Pinnacle Souveran Paste Wax, but nothing seemed to work and I don't want to damage the paint. Any help would be great! Thanks!

Misty

ObsessiveAutoDetail
06-01-2009, 10:32 AM
If it's just on the surface, I recommend Poor Boy's Bug Squash. It ROCKS! You can use it with a Pinnacle Bug Scrubber Sponge.. If it's etched, you may need to turn to a light polish. Hope this helps.

YankeeFan
06-01-2009, 11:14 AM
I have had the Pinnacle scrubber for a while but very afraid to use it as it is so rough. With so much emphasis placed on not creating swirls/scratches by using two buckets, using microfiber towels, using a leaf blower, etc. but then using this sponge, it just doesn’t match up. I'm just curious how well it has worked for you? I'm not saying anything good or bad about it just very nervous to use it, especially on Honda's soft CC.

Howard

Jimmie
06-01-2009, 11:16 AM
Clay is worth a try too. You may want to consider claying your whole car anyway. This is a good game plan: Wash-Clay-Polish-Protect.
The polish can be either type:
Chemical-by hand-Pinnacle Paintwork Cleansing Lotion.
Abrasive-by buffer.

ObsessiveAutoDetail
06-01-2009, 11:21 AM