PDA

View Full Version : New Member from New Mexico...HELLO! Lots of ???s

Mike1968NM
05-30-2009, 10:17 AM
Hi Everyone!

I have been surfing around the net looking for car care products and stumbled across this wonderful site! I have always been amazed at how some people's cars look at the auto shows we go to and have always wondered just how they do it. I have spent a bunch of money on cleaning/care products but have discovered that I just don't know "HOW" to get that deep perfect shine on my vehicles.

Well, we have just purchased my wife a 2009 Mini and I want to be able to maintain/improve upon that brand new look. The vehicle was on the lot for about 4 weeks before we purchased it and it has some annoying water spots on the sunroof glass. It also has some swirl marks on the black A pillars....annoying on the new baby.

We also have a 2005.5 VW Jetta TDI and a 2002 Jeep Liberty that have been maintained well in my book but again, I am no pro detailer, have a few issues such as minor swirls and some light scratches.

I would like to get a good quality polisher such as a Porter Cable 7424 but have never pulled the plug on one. Now is the time! I enjoy "detailing" the cars but simply don't know the best way to do it as there are sooooo many products out there.

I have been using Meguiar's products because they are available at the local store but I hear and see soooo many other products out there that it is all a bit confusing.

If anyone knows of a good "tutorial" that takes you from the raw basics through the entire process I would be appreciative if someone could point me in that direction!

I used to think that applying a carnuba wax by hand was the "best" thing to do but after reading bunches, it seems that there are other methods that produce better results.

Anyhow I hope to learn a great deal here and will post pictures in the future as my detailing experiences progress!

Thanks for allowing me to be part of the community!

Mike

Bernard