PDA

View Full Version : 50/50 Alcohol Solution

jimlenz
05-08-2009, 05:58 PM
I am a noob here and keep reading about others using a 50/50 alcohol solution during the polishing process. Could you explain what that is and what is the other 50? I am going to be doing my first detail next week and figured I should know..

Jim

67Customs
05-08-2009, 06:11 PM
A 50/50 alcohol solution is simple one part distilled water to one part isopropyl alcohol mixed together.

It is used to spray the panel down after you polish it. This will remove any polishing oils left on the panel so that you can see your true work with nothing hidden. Some polishing oils will hide minor haze or swirls that might still remain after a polish pass.

You don't have to dilute it. I use straight 93% isopropyl alcohol. You can dilute it to kill some of the smell or to make a bottle of it last longer, but I just use it stright.

jimlenz
05-08-2009, 07:06 PM
A 50/50 alcohol solution is simple one part distilled water to one part isopropyl alcohol mixed together.

It is used to spray the panel down after you polish it. This will remove any polishing oils left on the panel so that you can see your true work with nothing hidden. Some polishing oils will hide minor haze or swirls that might still remain after a polish pass.

You don't have to dilute it. I use straight 93% isopropyl alcohol. You can dilute it to kill some of the smell or to make a bottle of it last longer, but I just use it stright.

So I am doing a 2 step polish with menzerna and then wax. Do I do this after each step? I assume I spray the panel down with the solution and then do I wipe it off with a mf or do i spray it off or what?

Thanks

loudog2
05-08-2009, 07:28 PM
Spray it, then wipe it off with a MF towel.

Rsurfer
05-08-2009, 08:41 PM
Spray it, then wipe it off with a MF towel.