PDA

View Full Version : Doing a first time detail on a new Ford Flex...

ScottL
05-08-2009, 12:16 PM
First off, I have to tell you guys right up front that I am new to all this detailing stuff, but we just got this new car and I want to do my best to keep it looking great!

It is a 2009 Ford Flex with Dark Ink Blue Metallic paint.

I would like to make the color "pop" but also have good protection from the Florida sun!

I do not own, nor am comfortable, with using a power buffer, so I will be doing everything by hand.

Can you guys recommend the best steps to take to achieve what I am shooting for, please?

I had never heard of claying a vehicle until I started reading this forum - is that something that would need to be done on a brand new vehicle?

Any input would be much appreciated. I want to start on the car tomorrow, so if you can recommend products that can be bought locally, that would be a bonus!!

Thanks for reading!

Scott

jugodegolf
05-08-2009, 12:50 PM
In for what the pros say on such a new car.

Matt S.
05-08-2009, 01:45 PM
Well, there's no need to mention swirl removers here since you're working by hand and the car is brand new.

See if you have a Carquest or NAPA nearby that carries Duragloss products. If you can get your hands on 101 or 501 (both good cleaners) and 111 or 105 (both good sealants) then you'll have a great setup there. You'll just need a good car wash soap, some mitts/brushes/buckets, and a clay kit which can be found at any auto parts store.

-Wash
-Clay
-Duragloss cleaner (101 or 501)
-Duragloss sealant (111 or 105)

These are the best products you'll find locally, good luck!

ScottL
05-08-2009, 01:47 PM
Thanks Matt! I will go have a look after work!

GXPWeasel
05-08-2009, 01:49 PM