PDA

View Full Version : Novice Detailer - a work in progress

sportzfan76
05-06-2009, 10:59 AM
Hi All - I just thought i would post a couple of photos of my car. It is 3 years old - and while the paint is in good condition we all know what a challenge black paint can be. After several disappointing experiences with various local detailers i decided to try and give all the detailing efforts a go myself. I guess I'm just too picky....

Anyway - I have been a student of this web site for the past 6 months or so - absorbing as much info as I can and attempting to get better results - results that last more than a car wash or 2. Its a work in progress...but I have to admit I think i'm getting better with each effort.

These pics were taken after using Menzerna IP and FF polishes, Fuzion wax and Zaino Z8. It came out pretty good I think - especially after the heavy winter's effect on this daily driver. Thanks for looking.

loudog2
05-06-2009, 11:02 AM
Great job! Isn't it more rewarding to achieve the look you want by yourself? Now that you know the work it takes, you'll be more cautious of where you park it, or who drives it.

trlblazer3
05-06-2009, 12:07 PM
Looking good, thanks for sharing! AG is a great place to learn about technique, products etc., and as you gain confidence the sky is the limit. I'd say you're well on you're way for sure. Just beware -its an addiction that cannot be shaken!

mrGolfRider
05-06-2009, 12:56 PM
very good job! I like your driveway, lol. I live on an alley, I notice things like that!

tempter927
05-06-2009, 01:32 PM
Hey, Nice work on the paint, reflection and shine look flawless in the pics. Those chrome exhaust tips are looking very nice and shiny as well.

some thoughts/questions

What polishing machine/pads are you using with the menzerna?

You mentioned you wanted your results to last more then a wash or two, a sealant before the fusion will help with durability of the last step product/s.