PDA

View Full Version : Poorboys EX Question

dshavers
04-06-2009, 07:28 PM
So this weekend I decided it was time to get a nice sealant on my car. I applied multiple coats but waited 24 hours in between. I'm reading that the correct was was to do multiple coats right after another and then wait 24 hours to cure. By waiting 24 hours for each coat, did I screw anything up? This is with Poorboys EX Sealant.

nrengle
04-06-2009, 08:32 PM
You should be fine. I have no experience with the PB EX Sealant, but with most others, you have to wait 4+ hours before you can layer, and generally it's recommended 12 to 24 hours for most, so you should be good to go.

budman3
04-06-2009, 08:34 PM
You did just fine, the 24 hour rule is a good one to go by. You can do 2 coats one after another (no wait time) but that is usually to ensure complete coverage. Letting the sealant cure for 24h will allow it to cure properly and possibly add durability to subsequent applications.

Rsurfer
04-06-2009, 11:08 PM
You did just fine, the 24 hour rule is a good one to go by. You can do 2 coats one after another (no wait time) but that is usually to ensure complete coverage. Letting the sealant cure for 24h will allow it to cure properly and possibly add durability to subsequent applications.Hey budman, I agree with you, however I have read many times to apply 2 coats for complete coverage. I really don't believe in that statement. I can't see how so many of us are so anal about our cars that you could miss a spot. I think it's a waste of product and time to do a second coat right away. I've waited till the next weekend to do a second coat. This in my opinion gives the sealant or nuba time to really cure out. Just my 2 cents.:cheers:

Rsurfer
04-06-2009, 11:20 PM