PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about buying a steamer...opinions please

Pages : [1] 2

grambow
04-05-2009, 10:26 AM
I am just a weekend hobbyist that details his two relatively clean cars in the driveway. I am thinking about buying an inexpensive steam cleaner (under $100) for cleaning wheels and interiors.

My questions are:

Is a cleaner from HD or Lowes even worth it or do I need something stronger?
Does anyone use steam on their wheels?
Do I need to worry about damaging clearcoat etc?
Is steam even strong enough to thoroughly clean wheels?

Like I said, I dont want to spend a ton of money here....just add another useful tool to my arsenal. I dont want to waste money either...if a $100 steamer isnt going to do the trick, I will just save my money for other things. Thanks in advance for your insight.

loudog2
04-05-2009, 10:46 AM
You might want to look into a bissel little geen machine or the small bissel proheat. Both are $99, a couple people on here use them. As for tires/rims. For tires I use ARO(amazing roll-off) and P21S tire gel for the rims.

heatgain
04-05-2009, 11:08 AM
The best cheap steamer is the McCullough MC1275. It does a fine job in the interior. It not a super-high pressure steamer, but it does have nice pressure for the $$.
I paid 75.00 at HF using a 15% off coupon. IMHO, it's worth the money.
I'm certain you could do more with a steamer that runs $3000.00, but for your purposes, it'll do.
It's nice around the house and on jewelry too.
I wouldn't go for any hand-held steamer.

img
04-05-2009, 12:27 PM
With the price of fuel expected to arise, I think a steamer is a great idea--here's a 1924 Stanley.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/medium/STEAM-09z-794057.jpg (javascript:;)

SpotlessDetail
09-14-2009, 09:50 PM