PDA

View Full Version : Do I have a good product?

LutzD79
03-26-2009, 06:13 PM
Okay, I am new to this detailing thing and certainly new to any product that isn't off of the shelf of my local discount store. I visit this site daily and read the threads and am beginning to get concerned if I bought a good product for my needs? I have a jet black BMW and I bought the Wolfgang Concourse Series kit for total swirl removal. This kit includes the following:

Finish Glaze
Instant Detail Glaze
Deep Gloss Paint Sealant
Total Swirl Remover

LC White, Orange, and Blue pads

I also purchased a PC 7424 and will be getting a clay bar kit sometime in the near future.

The reason for the concern is that I don't have a lot of knowledge about the different products but whenever someone on here asks for advice on product I never see Wolfgang mentioned as an option. It is usually some other brand like Meguire's or something like that that is offered as a suggestion. I will be doing my first detail in a few weeks and need some reassurance that I have what I need or did I spend money on an inferior product?

Thanks for all of your advice and help, I am little paranoid :)

Darren

Brian_Brice
03-26-2009, 06:28 PM
Well depending on the damage you should be good with the products you have. Ordinarilly I would say start with a white pad and lightly abrasive polish. Your car being a jet black bmw iit could be silly soft or horrendously hard. You would be surprised how much technique trumps product selection.

Make sure to use 15-20 lbs of pressure using you white pad and swirl remover initially, make sure to guide your pc very slow in overlapping passes. Make sure sr is completely broken down before pulling your hair out due to lack of results. That polish will break down translucent when finished.

If you are getting good results but not 90-95% correction, go over each section again in the same fashion, or you can step up to an orange pad. The sealant you have looks pretty great on black.