PDA

View Full Version : Expert Advice

padwan
03-12-2009, 02:30 PM
Hi, I'm brand new to detailing.
I'm trying to figure out what tool and pad combo would be best to get swirls and some holograms out. I don't want a rotary, not for first time use. I know i should get the flex, but I have some other correcting to do. My windshield has some wiper marks on it. I want to use the lake country glass polishing kit to fix it. I don't think that kit will work with a flex. I wish I could afford both machines but I can't... So I'm thinking about the wolfgang PC kit.

From what I've read, I think I need to get 4 inch pads for the PC. Will the smaller pads (faster rotation) cause burning? I was thinking of getting the orange and white ones in the 4 inch size.

I am willing to get a flex if someone can tell me how to fix the glass without a PC.

I've attached pics of the swirling. The quality might not be too good. I couldn't get a good shot of the wiper tracks.

Oh, I have a few deep scratches in the paint too. Should I correct those before starting a detail?

Thanks in advance!

~padwan~

....yea, I know it needs a wash and some clay

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/P1.jpg

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/P2.jpg

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/500/P3.jpg

Matt S.
03-12-2009, 02:49 PM
A PC isn't going to fix your glass. Too much pressure is required for it to work effectively IMO.

I say get the Flex, with some yellow and gray pads with Meguiar's #105 and #205 to fix your paint. If you have a decent drill, you can use that on the glass.

RaskyR1
03-12-2009, 02:52 PM
I agree with Matt.

Looks like somone has already taken a rotary to your paint. ;)

D
03-12-2009, 05:15 PM
I would get 4" and 5.5" pads in orange, white, gray, blue, and red if you want to apply LSP's with your PC. I would also pick up some M205 and M105 as people have been getting good results with those products using the Kevin Brown method.

blk45
03-12-2009, 07:37 PM