PDA

View Full Version : Help me surprise my husband

txmom
02-11-2009, 02:50 PM
We got a new Highlander for the family - while my husband is still driving his 1994 Toyota Pickup. I want to detail it for him as a surprise and reward him for working so hard.

It's black, has light oxidation, and hasn't been waxed (or washed) in a long time. I will work by hand so it needs to be fast, and easy on/easy off, hopefully with no chalky residue. It doesn't have to be a showroom finish, anything is an improvement. Ease of use is my top priority.

Help me choose products, I'm leaning toward Duragloss because of the price.

1. Something to deep clean and take care of the oxidation.

2. A sealer that will last a long time.

3. A topper that is fast (if needed).

Has anyone tried the turtle wax "ICE" products?

Thanks guys!

sh4dowfax
02-11-2009, 03:06 PM
Welcome to the forums! :) I'm still learning and my detailing arsenal is rather small, but I've had good results with Collinite wax. (I use #885, but perhaps #845 is easier to use? Washed with Meguiar's Gold Class Shampoo, dried with Cobra MF towels, then thin layer of wax panel-by-panel, then buff by hand.)

Ha, sorry... not overly helpful... but I'm sure you'll get lots of good suggestions from the pro's here. :)

Jimmie
02-11-2009, 03:07 PM
Wash-Clay-Polish-Protect
Really like your idea of Duragloss
Wash=Any good auto wash
Clay=Remove years of embedded contaminents.
Polish=DG101 (or DG501) to remove the oxidation.
Protect=DG105, is a good sealant
Top=Aqua Wax, quick and easy to spray on and wipe off after each few washes.
Oh, and :welcome: I see this is your first post.

Emile
02-11-2009, 03:30 PM
Wash the vehicle.
Then do Duragloss Polish & Cleaner #101. It should clean up at least some of the oxidation.
Finally, apply a nice carnauba wax such as Collinite #915 or Poorboy's World Natty's Paste Wax (Blue).

crash93ssei
02-11-2009, 05:56 PM
Welcome to the forums!