PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a noob.

Buckshot
02-08-2009, 05:36 PM
Noob here in J-ville but I have been lurking for a long time. I have been a car enthusiast as well as motorcycles and water-sports for as long as I can remember. I have always loved detailing my own vehicles since I was old enough to have one. The products I have used were always from the local auto parts store or Walmart. I currently have a bunch of junk in my garage and would like to start fresh with decent products. What do you guys recommend to get started for my 2006 silver Toyota Tundra XSP and my wife's 2003 Lexus RX300 (silver)? The vehicles are in fairly good shape and I don't need the most expensive products but I would like stuff that works and produce great results. Any help from the sponge or mitt to the wax is greatly appreciated.

I copied and pasted this here from the introduction thread to see if I might get a response or two here.

Rsurfer
02-08-2009, 05:52 PM
If you really want to keep up your 2 cars, you are going to need a machine polisher. Get ready to invest a few hundred dollars.

Buckshot
02-08-2009, 06:06 PM
If you really want to keep up your 2 cars, you are going to need a machine polisher. Get ready to invest a few hundred dollars.

I was all set to buy a PC kit and then heard someone refer to it as a good "beginner" polisher. what gives?

Rsurfer
02-08-2009, 06:32 PM
I was all set to buy a PC kit and then heard someone refer to it as a good "beginner" polisher. what gives?
It is a beginner polisher, as it is almost fool proof. Very forgiving machine, but it will get the job done. The Flex is also a da machine and very forgiving, but it's expensive.

Rsurfer
02-08-2009, 06:34 PM
Get the pc with 5.5" pads and Menzerna polishes you can't go wrong with that package.

loudog2
02-08-2009, 06:46 PM
Depends on what your looking to spend: