PDA

View Full Version : What is a glaze?

Kris R
12-19-2008, 03:40 PM
I have never used glaze before. I bought one of those XMT kits and it comes with a bottle of glaze. I read somewhere "you can definitely tell which details skip the glaze step and which ones dont."

the bottle says "carnuba glaze" so this is the point of confusion.

I'm guessing that glaze is a fine top coat that is meant to fill in the minor defects left after a fine polish? (meguires speed glaze?) and if it has carnuba in it, that its supposed to offer some protection?

Whereas regular carnuba wax has no fillers and just offers protection. So if you use a carnuba glaze you should still wax over it?

Just let me know if I have this right and what your opinions and experiences are with glaze.

Joshs2013MSAltimaSL
12-19-2008, 03:49 PM
I just bought the XMT Intermediate Swirl kit, after you use the first two products, you apply the glaze. It's supposed to bring back the shine...I believe it acts as a polish (someone with more experience may step in here haha), and then you can top the glaze off with a carnauba wax/sealant.

Emile
12-19-2008, 03:54 PM
After you polish your vehicle, you can apply a coat of glaze. It will bring the full shine back to the paint, and it's not uncommon for a glaze to contain oils and fillers to conceal light scratches and swirls. After you apply the glaze and then buff it off, you would apply your wax on top of that. Glazes typically do not offer any real paint protection.

You don't HAVE to apply a glaze, I believe that you can go from XMT #1 straight to whatever paint protection you want, such as a wax or sealant.

Kris R
12-19-2008, 03:58 PM