PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Purchasing my first set of products

stjohnson
10-19-2008, 11:10 PM
Hello, I'm looking for any advice regarding what I should and should not purchase from people who have some experience. I'm not an expert detailer, but I am an avid auto enthusiast. I just bought a new M45 and already (3 weeks in) I'm noticing swirl marks in my dark pearl blue slate finish. Very annoying! But needless to say, I've been perusing the AutoGeek store and forums and have come up with what I think I need to safely remove the swirls and maintain a year after year glossy finish.

And before I go any farther, I know there are religious debates on rotaries vs. dual action, and brands of products. I'm not so much looking to ignite that sort of discussion, but rather, I'd like guidance on the right products to fit my needs.

1.)
So, tool wise, I'm pretty sold on the XC 3401 dual action polisher. I know it's pricy, but being a novice, I don't want to go the rotary route. And this one seems to be getting very good reviews. In the hands of a pro it's most certainly an impressive tool. Which means in my hands it should be very safe and effective. And I don't want to cut corners here since this seems to be the cornerstone of a good detail.

2.)
Now a point of confusion. Pads and backers. I have a new car, don't have oxidation, just light swirling. Do I need to concern myself with multiple pads or kits with all of these pads?

3.)
Product wise, I like what I've read about Menzerna Intro Kit. But to be honest, I don't think I need the Intensive bottle. Probably would only use the final polish. Does this raise any flags to anyone? The car is only about 2 months old, so the swirls are what you would imagine a terry towel would do after a few passes.

After that, I see that AG has a link to Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant 3.0, which seems logical. So I've added that to my cart as well.

4.)