PDA

View Full Version : New to forum; products questions

John in VA
09-15-2008, 11:35 AM
Greetings! I'm new to the forum and machine polishing, just recently purchasing a PC 7424. It came with a number of pads & polishes, so I hope to put it to use soon. I've been maintaining my cars by hand for the past 20+ years.

I've read many old posts, and have learned quite a bit from others' experiences, but have so much more to learn.

I'll be practicing on my '85 BMW Arktisblau 325e, and after gaining proficiency try to keep my wife's like-new '00 Fern green 328i looking like new, as well as my daily driver, an '86 Delphin 535i. My "baby" is a '74 2002tii, with single-stage Chamonix paint - hope to have it looking like glass!

For AC/heating system maintenance, can someone comment on the Wurth treatment vs. Einszett Klima cleaner vs. BG Frigi-Fresh or Frigi-Clean? I was hoping to spray a product into the area at the base of the windshield of the E46 when replacing the microfilter. Some of these are to be sprayed into the interior vents.

Opinions on Mother's Powerball vs. Flitz Polish Ball? I use Flitz (by hand) on my tii's polished aluminum bumpers (no clear coat). No matter what I use to buff the black oxidation off leaves fine scratches. Thought one of these could help obtain that mirror finish.

Pinnacle Leather Cleaner/Conditioner is presently on sale (BOGO). The gray leather in the E46 seems so "delicate" vs. my E28. I want to keep it looking new & soft, but if the Pinnacle isn't preferred, 2 bottles is no bargain!

Thanks for your time,
John in (northern) VA

Wendell Jarvis
09-15-2008, 01:16 PM