PDA

View Full Version : New Forum

Matt
03-22-2006, 09:57 AM
Hey all,

We decided to create this forum due to the amount of Porter Cable / Pad inquiries we get.

If you have any questions related to the Porter Cable 7424, pads, backing plates, counterweights, usage/techniques, feel free to post them in here!

ScottB
03-22-2006, 08:46 PM
I am extremely glad to see this area, as I am PM'd on pads consistently. Absolutely bare minimum is an orange, white, and two finishing pads. A flexible backing plate is also needed. Several kits are offered at a great price and add greater flexibility. Sizing is a personal preference, but 6.5 are a nice middle ground.

rdunnac
03-23-2006, 03:46 AM
Oh Yea!! Thanks for creating this forum. I have a Porter Cable 7424 coming my way. I am new to this kind of detailing but am doing a lot of reading. I know questions are to come. :)

Matt
03-23-2006, 09:18 AM
I am extremely glad to see this area, as I am PM'd on pads consistently. Absolutely bare minimum is an orange, white, and two finishing pads. A flexible backing plate is also needed. Several kits are offered at a great price and add greater flexibility. Sizing is a personal preference, but 6.5 are a nice middle ground.

I agree...except maybe 2 orange and 2 whites. As we know, if you're doing some serious polishing, the pads get gummed up and need replacement (but I suppose you CAN just wash/dry them on the spot).

snomon1017
03-24-2006, 05:15 PM
Greetings! I've been doing lot-o-reading about the Porter Cable too and have been really been tempted to take the plunge. However, I'm trying to justify the expense, as I am hand waxing practically every second or third week anyway. Truth is, my paint is in very good condition, though there is some barely perceptable, I guess you'd call them spider webbing, on the surface that can only be seen from a few inches away. I'm afraid I'd do more harm than good with power in my hands. Any thoughts?

JeffW
03-24-2006, 09:10 PM