PDA

View Full Version : First Buffer

Pages : [1] 2

Kevzaz
08-18-2008, 11:53 PM
So I am planning on ordering my first ever buffer. :D But I need help deciding. There is so many different types of polishers. Then there are so many brands. Then there are so many series. So I don't even know where to start in buying a new polisher. I have always done things by hand. And I don't exactly have a lot of money to spend. So a good quality polisher that wont break the bank is needed. Please help. :buffing:

dionnfr
08-19-2008, 08:35 AM
As you start out a lot of people begin with the Porter Cable and the Flex, I personally like rotaries. Metabo and Makita are my choices.

dublifecrisis
08-19-2008, 11:31 AM
as a newb myself, I went with the Porter Cable 7424 that was in a kit. I got some extra pads. If you're nervous about the whole machine polishing thing, then the PC might be the best bet for you. If you're like me though, I read and watched so much prior to my purachase, that I felt more confident. I kinda wish I would have gone for the Flex DA, but the PC is a reliable, affordable tool that gives great results.

Good luck with your purchase.

Keith Harrison
08-19-2008, 12:30 PM
Just bought my first also (about a month ago) and after much thought, I went with the Flex. Man am I glad I did. I really can't imagine that the PC is that much safer to use and from many comments the Flex is a smoother operating machine even though more powerful. One thing everyone I think will agree on is the Flex makes faster work on about any correction. The time savings alone made it worth the extra $$ to me. The + I understand on the PC side is the ability to use 4" pads which helps in tight corners but you buy a PC kit and then immediately have to start retrofiting to make it at its best. (Forgive this statement if any of the kits come with 4")