PDA

View Full Version : nubee to the detail world. am i missing stuff for my project?

sciontest
08-12-2008, 08:14 AM
Hi guys and gals of autogeek I’m an automotive technician for a private owned shop and don’t have a clue where to start on a detail job. My mind set on cleaning my cars was a bucket with car wash, hose with nozzle, and a wash mitt or sponge. I know I was washing all wrong but I really didn’t care much since I would swap out cars at lease once a year. (I could not keep a car more than 6 months really bad habit)
Now I have a car that I’m going to keep for a while. I bought an 2006 vehicle brand new so I had it so far for 2 ½ years now and I’m still in love with the car. Since new I would bring it into the local detail shop every 6 months to get the paint resealed.
Now I’ve decided to take on the challenge of detailing my car. This is the list of equipment/chemicals that I have on hand.

3 Orange Light Cutting CCS 5.5 inch
3 Blue Finessing CCS DA 5.5 inch
Porter Cable 7424
2 Gray Pads 5.5 Inch
2 White Pads 5.5 Inch
1 DA Backing Plate 5 inch As said I’m new to this so what is the correct process to do a nice detail job?

Wash with two bucket method and remove bug and tar (Poorboys Bug Squash)
DP Detailing Clay & Lube
Wolfgang Total Swirl Remover 3.0
P21S Gloss-Enhancing Paintwork Cleanser
3M Imperial Hand Glaze
Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant 3.0Is this the correct order with the products that I have to do a nice job? And what pad do use with each product that I have?
Please reply to me with anything that I’m missing to do the correct job.
:autowash:Feed back please

ScottB
08-12-2008, 09:21 AM
your pads and buffer choice are fine but you seem to have some overlap on the products.

for proper prep you want to wash, clay, polish, and protect.

Polishing -- Wolfgang 3.0 Polish and Glaze
Protect --- Wolfgang 3.0 Sealant