PDA

View Full Version : Exterior Detailing Questions for Black Vehicles

klklett
07-29-2008, 07:39 AM
Hello all!

I am new to the entire detailing process and wanted to run a few things by you before I make my initial purchase. I have two black vehicles that I will be detailing. One is a 1995 Jeep Wrangler that has great paint on it (minor swirls, really no other defects) and the other is a brand new 2008 VW GTI.

After reading tons of posts I have come up with the process that I think I will use. I'm not sure if all of the steps are needed or if any should be changed. I am planning on doing the following:

1. Wash
2. Clay
3. Polish
4. Sealant
5. Protect
This seems like a lot of steps. Are they all necessary?

I am planning on purchasing the following. I would appreciate any feedback that you may have on the products that I have chosen and if I will have everything that I will need. If I don't need something that I have listed or if there is a better kit or a cheaper way to aquire what I need I would appreciate your ideas.

1. Duragloss 901
2. Clay - Wolfgang Clay Kit w/ Lube
3. Menzerna Porter Cable Intensive Shine Kit (Does this kit have all of the pads that I need? Any aadvice on which pads to start with?)
4. Sealant- 4* UPP
5. Wax - Liquid Souveran, Souvern Paste (Shall I get both or just one?) (I am also considering the spray wax, would this be good to use after washes?)
6. Pad Cleaner - Not sure what to get here?
7. Microfiber Towels - Cobra Indigo and Cobra WW
8. California Water Blade - Does this thing work or shall I just use the MF?
9. Wash mits - Any suggestions?

Sorry about the long post. I just want to make sure that I get this as close to right as I can the first time. Thanks for your help!

bryansbestwax
07-29-2008, 07:45 AM
Hello all!