PDA

View Full Version : Some Detailing Questions????

Pages : [1] 2

stang1101
06-05-2008, 12:04 PM
I'm pulling my Mach 1 out this weekend and I want to give it a full detail. I've done some detailing on other cars, but am still a little clueless. The plan is to wash it with Optimum NO Rinse wash, Liquid Clay Bar, NU finish polish, and still undecided on the wax. Is this the right order or are there steps missing? My friend has a PC orbital that he said I could borrow. Would it be worth it to apply the polish or to just do it by hand?

makdaddy626
06-05-2008, 03:52 PM
The "official" motto is "Wash - Clay - Polish (true abrasive polish) - Protect.

Looks like your order is correct but a few comments to share:

1) I have no experience with liquid clay bar but have seen several comments posted on line that it is not as affected as "real" clay.
2) Nufinish Polish is really a sealant rather than a true polish - and not a very good one (IMO) - not that it doesn't look ok or anything really bad... but, as with many cheaper sealants and waxes it can be a PAIN to apply and remove and the looks are (IMO) less than can be optained with other products. If you're looking for OTC products, consider Duragloss, Mothers, or Meguires. They all make good products that are affordable and readily available.

stang1101
06-05-2008, 04:07 PM
I have been hearing that liquid clay bars are less susceptible to scratches in the clear coat than the traditional hard clay bar.

What kind of polish would you recommend for OTC?
What kind of wax?

With the polish, do I need to apply it with a PC (having no experience) or can I do it by hand?
Same with wax?

mjfx
06-05-2008, 04:51 PM
You dont have to use a PC but you should if you can.

sal329
06-05-2008, 05:47 PM
If your looking for OTC I would do something like this
Wash with Meguiars Gold Class or Deep Crystal (Walmart)
Clay with Meguiars Smooth Kit (comes with 2 bars of clay, MF towel and quick detailer) (Walmart)